Symphonies Nos. 4,6 BUY ON AMAZON

L. v. Beethoven / F. Liszt
Symphonies Nos. 4 & 6 (Transcriptions)

Konstantin Scherbakov, piano
Naxos 8.557170




Beethoven - Symphony No. 6 in F major, S464/R128
Beethoven - Symphony No. 4 in B flat major, S464/R128 


"The whole experience of listening to such a work for a solo piano played by this consummate artist is nothing short of revelatory... His rendition was so natural the music seemed to flow from his very being !... It was a superb performance that made me want to rush out to find other works he has played... To sum up: transcriptions like these are true vehicles for virtuosity and demand virtuosos to perform them...Konstantin Scherbakov, by contrast, plays with a white-hot intensity that makes for thrilling listening and the result is that Liszt's work on transcribing these symphonies is allowed to stand on its own without any comparison with the original works being made, even unwittingly. If like me you have never heard these transcriptions before you are in for a treat. The whole exercise has made me eager to explore the rest of this series." Steve Arloff, MusicWeb International